Wednesday, March 29, 2023

The Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai LitFest presents annual literary awards for Fiction, Non-Fiction, and Business books published during the year. The aim of the awards is to acknowledge and encourage literary talent across the genres among both established and new writers. The awards, considered prestigious and keenly awaited each year, are one of the highlights of the Festival, where the winners are announced at the grande finale.

The Longlists in each category (in alphabetical order), and the eminent juries that decided the awards are as follows:

Tata Literature Live! Book of the Year (Fiction) Longlist (in alphabetical order)

1.      Geeta Rahman at Championship Point by Saskya Jain (Simon and Schuster India)

2.      Lahore: Part 1 of the Partition Trilogy by Manreet Sodhi Someshwar (HarperCollins Publishers)

3.      Tell Me How To Be by Neel Patel (Penguin Random House India)

4.      The Earthspinner by Anuradha Roy (Hachette India)

5.      The Garden of Heaven by Madhulika Liddle (Speaking Tiger Books)

6.      The Map and the Scissors by Amit Majmudar (HarperCollins Publishers)

Tata Literature Live! Book of the Year (Non-Fiction) Longlist (in alphabetical order)

1.      A Thousand Cuts: An Innocent Question and Deadly Answers by TJ Joseph (Penguin Random House India)

2.      Ancient India: Culture of Contradictions by Upinder Singh (Aleph Book Company)

3.      Better to Have Gone: Love, Death and the Quest for Utopia in Auroville by Akash Kapur (Simon and Schuster India)

4.      Field Notes from a Waterborne Land: Bengal Beyond the Bhadralok by Parimal Bhattacharya (HarperCollins Publishers)

5.      Lords of the Deccan: Southern India from the Chalukyas to the Cholas by Anirudh Kanisetti (Juggernaut Books)

6.      The Silent Coup: A History of India’s Deep State by Josy Joseph (Westland)